Streamlining AWX Releases

Hi folks,

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m John “Gundalow” Barker and have been part of the Ansible team at Red Hat for over 8 years. I am an engineering manager and currently responsible for the Ansible engineering team that focuses on the upstream community. You can find me on this Forum or Matrix as gundalow.

In a recent blog post, we talked about some upcoming changes we’ll be making to the AWX project. This will sound familiar if you attended Red Hat Summit/Ansible Fest 2024. As we acknowledged at both AnsibleFest and in the blog, we know we didn’t go into all the details as they are still forming.

The issues we face have been building for many years, we’ve either ignored them, pushed them to another day or attempted adjustments, and while we are just beginning to talk about how we might evolve AWX, the thoughts we have are many, but unstructured. We have lots to overcome but also need to focus on how we address them as both an open source project and as one of the upstream components of Red Hat’s Ansible Automation Platform.

While usage of AWX has grown beyond what we ever anticipated, this did not happen without encountering a fair share of challenges along the way. Unsurprisingly, over time, it has become more and more challenging to make changes, both upstream and downstream. While we have done our best to support our community by enabling and collaborating with contributors, triaging and debugging issues, and providing regular releases, we have struggled to support the project and product as usage continues to increase.

The changing needs of the project and the broader ecosystem have led to the realization that we must rethink AWX. To meet these increasing demands, we need to transform it into a more modern and scalable solution.

Reaffirming the intent of AWX