Any ham radio operators?

Does anyone in our community do ham radio stuff as a hobby? I have been a licensed ham radio operator since 2004 and have been involved with the hobby off and on over that span. Currently it’s a somewhat big part of my life. I’m part of the Oak Hill Amateur Radio Club in Austin, TX (N5OAK) and also help to maintain the KA5D system here in Austin. I do some contesting here and there as well and have attended Contest University a few times now.

I occasionally find ways to combine Ansible with ham radio, mainly for configuring AllStarLink linking and deployment of club repeaters (using AllStarLink as a controller) and so on.

Curious if we have any other Ansible-using hams in the community.

7 Likes

Hey @relrod I know someone who is a ham operator here in the west of Ireland. That’s as close as I can get. I’ve always found it interesting. And there are always great stories. What would be like your top 5 coolest transmissions?

I’m not sure about top 5 contacts, but earlier this year I contacted 3Y0J which was a group that did a DXPedition on Bouvet Island. That is a very rare contact to make, and I was lucky to be able to use a friend’s contest station to make the contact.

Living in an apartment, I can’t really have big antennas. I have to live with smaller, compromise antennas and hidden wire antennas against the building. But I have a friend in the area who has a large contest station with “real antennas” which is a lot of fun, and he is open to people guest-operating and also using the station remotely :slight_smile:

I tend to enjoy Morse Code (“CW”) contacts a lot. I was working to get my speed up (the “good” people can copy 40-50WPM with no issue, I cap out at about 20WPM right now), though lately I’ve been prioritizing learning German and have been spending less time on CW practice.