The powershell shell family is incompatible with the sudo become plugin

I’m new with ansible projects.
when running this command :

ansible-playbook install_nginx.yml --ask-become-pass

I got this error :
TASK [Gathering Facts] *************************************************************************************************
fatal: [mem1]: FAILED! => {“msg”: “The powershell shell family is incompatible with the sudo become plugin”}
ok: [dc1]

my playbook as below :
template_nginx.yml :

---
- name: Install Nginx
  hosts: all
  become: true
#  become_method: winrm

tasks:
      apt:
        name: nginx
        state: present
      become: yes
      become_method: runas

- name: Start Nginx
      service:
        state: started

my inventory.ini :

my remote IP address

Are you trying to install Nginx on a Windows machine or an Ubuntu/Debian machine? You’ve got a bunch of mixed terms going on.

For Linux, the following should work on most distributions, not just Ubuntu/Debian.

---
- name: Install Nginx - Linux
  # become_method: sudo ## this is the default become_method

tasks:
      ansible.builtin.package: # Linux package manager agnostic

ansible.builtin.service:
        enabled: true

For Windows:
I’m just showing you what you might for Windows use since apt is a Debian package manager, not a Windows one. Not everyone is comfortable with using third party packagers for Windows, so you might need to download the Windows build, and configure everything (including a service) yourself.

---
- name: Install Nginx - Windows
  become_method: runas

tasks:
      chocolatey.chocolatey.win_chocolatey:

ansible.windows.win_service:
        state_mode: auto
2 Likes

thanks for your response, now dealing with the script for installign nginx I got this problem :

TASK [Start Nginx] *****************************************************************************************************