How to develop and run collection locally

I am pretty new to Ansible and hope to use it to automate deployment on hardware that my company manages.

I have created a collection for us to bundle all of our roles into, as it seems this is the modern way to use Ansible. I have tested them using Molecule and everything is working well, except for testing systemd services. Rather than try to find some workaround for getting systemd to work in Docker, I have been trying to test against some cheap EC2 instances.

The friction I am having now, though, is the development loop:

• Install my collection
  • Test / Run Playbook using role from collection
  • Inevitably find some issue
  • Fix Issue or add debug task
  • Install collection again – to pick up changes
  • Test / Run playbook again

This is working, but the fact that I have to force-install my collection every time I want to test my role is frustrating.

Am I missing some setup trick or tool that makes this development loop simpler? Ideally, I could just make changes in my collection and then test without installing it again.

I will likely resort to using make to streamline this loop, but I figured I would ask here first if there is something I can try that is native to ansible.

3 Likes

I’m doing this for roles but I expect something like it would work for collections?

I have ansible-galaxy install roles into galaxy/roles but for development I symlink roles/role_name to the local git repo for that role so when I run the playbook it always uses the latest local version of the role.

I’ve even got a very simple update.sh Bash script in the roles directory I can run to update all the symlinked roles:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

dirs=$(ls | grep -v ${0})
for d in ${dirs};
do
  if [[ -d ${d} ]]
  then
    cd ${d} || exit
    git pull || exit
    cd - || exit
  fi
done
3 Likes

Hi,

Molecule should let you use ec2 instances.