AAP job could NOT find role from a collection

Hello,
I’m new to AAP, I tried running a playbook from AAP.
I could see my playbook was triggered, but it failed to find a role from a collection.

I did occur this issue before when I run ansible-playbook command to run the playbook before, when this issue occurred, I installed the collection for the user who runs the command, and the issue could be fixed.

When I used AAP and this issue occurred again, I suspected that the user account AAP was using to run playbook might have NO access to the collection, so I tried to run the ansible-playbook command with the accounts awx and the user account who triggered the job, they all could run the playbook successfully.

At this point, I suspect AAP running playbook with a user account unknow, and the user has NO access to the collection, so the issue occurred.

Appreciate if anyone can help on this? Thanks in advance!

I had a similar issue with AWX.

My AWX Job Templates are playbooks stored in a project that is hosted on GitLab. My solution was to install the Galaxy Collection to the project directory and sync it back to GitLab.

To make it work:

1. Create an ansible.cfg file in the same directory as your playbook.
  2. Add this line to the file: collections_path = collections
  3. Create a directory named collections in the same directory as your playbook
  4. Run the ansible-galaxy collection install <YOUR_COLLECTION> to install the collection to your new collections folder.
  5. Sync your project to your git/scm. This will push the installed collection to your repo.
  6. Go into AWX/AAP/Tower and re-sync your project to pull the new collection installation to your AWX/AAP/Tower installation
  7. Run your playbook again and see if that work.

There are other ways you are supposedly able to tell AWX/AAP/Tower to download collections as-needed or with a requirements.yaml file, but I was never able to get that to work.