Where to start contributing to Ansible?

Hey !!

I am a total beginner in this project. Can you suggest some beginner friendly issues to work on?
I am excited to be a part of Ansible and contribute to it.

Regards.

5 Likes

Hello!

I’d start by checking-out all the content shared by @cloin and @IPvSean in LinkedIn… Just dig a little on their profiles, I’m sure you will find a ton of info there to start your Ansible journey learning from the best ones :wink:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/cmcnaughton?utm_source=share&utm_campaign=share_via&utm_content=profile&utm_medium=android_app

https://www.linkedin.com/in/seanecavanaugh?utm_source=share&utm_campaign=share_via&utm_content=profile&utm_medium=android_app

On the other hand, this @Leo’s post from another thread has a few links you might find interesting also:

Cheers!

3 Likes

Hi,

@jbericat Although the resources you provided are top notch, I think she is looking for ways to contribute to Ansible or related projects, not seeking directions on how to use or learn more on Ansible itself.

@Ektamd02 You can start by reading Contributing guidelines from Ansible project repo, linking to contributing Guide on Ansible documentation, especially How can I help? and Contributor path sections.
You could also probably pick some iisues on Ansible project repo to work on.

Other suggestions include helping and guiding people through various issues on this forum’s Get Help threads or join a Working group and take it from there.

I wouldn’t know what to recommend, not knowing what you’re comfortable working with, though I encourage you to tell more about yourself and what specific parts you’re interested in, and I’m sure someone will suggest more appropriate options.

4 Likes

Hi @Ektamd02 , welcome and thank you for your interest in contributing to Ansible.

As I agree with @ptn I’m going to move the topic to the Project Discussions category and slightly modify the title to “Where to start contributing to Ansible?”.