Setting aws_access_key/aws_secret_key in AWS Dyn Inventory config doesn't work?

Ubuntu 22.04 VM, Ansible 2.16.11 from PPA, amazon.aws 8.2.1 here.

The official docs (Dynamic Inventory Plugin — Ansible Community Documentation ) state that you can do this:

# demo.aws_ec2.yml
plugin: amazon.aws.aws_ec2

# The access key for your AWS account.
aws_access_key: <YOUR-AWS-ACCESS-KEY-HERE>
# The secret access key for your AWS account.
aws_secret_key: <YOUR-AWS-SECRET-KEY-HERE>

Now, it’s not my intention to pass credentials in cleartext, I’m just learning/researching/debugging here. The fact is, I can’t get it to work with the variables set directly in the AWS Dynamic Inventory config file (aws_ec2.yml). Tried it with and without quotes. I’m getting the following error:

ansible-playbook --flush-cache lsn13.yml
[WARNING]: provided hosts list is empty, only localhost is available. Note that the implicit localhost does not match 'all'

PLAY [Create AWS instances] *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

TASK [Gathering Facts] ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
ok: [localhost]

TASK [Create instances] *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
An exception occurred during task execution. To see the full traceback, use -vvv. The error was: botocore.exceptions.NoCredentialsError: Unable to locate credentials
failed: [localhost] (item=build) => {"ansible_loop_var": "item", "boto3_version": "1.35.26", "botocore_version": "1.35.26", "changed": false, "item": "build", "msg": "Could not describe default VPC: Unable to locate credentials"}