Roles purpose, best practices

Hi!
We have automations for provisioning and for updating configuration when needed, for backup and restore, and we also have event driven - getting an alert and doing something to address the alert.
We are planning to decide on some standards for us and rewrite what we have.

I’m not sure about how is the correct way of using roles, should it be like its name actual role the server has, that will include everything it needs for that role and if it doesn’t match this to have it in the play? or should a role be more small and generic like a function?
Is there best practices on this?

1 Like

Hi!

I think the best answer to your question is, ‘It depends’. I’ve been using roles as (small) building blocks, but that’s due to the nature of my work. I’m an infrastructure engineer, so I build servers as ‘blocks’ and the amount of control I have after the fact differs.

And having my roles organized like this, it’s also easier to maintain the roles themselves as their scope is limited.

But as roles can have dependencies on other roles, it might be viable in your environment to have ‘all-in-one’ roles, with or without extra dependencies.

1 Like

Unix philosophy applied to roles proved to be the way to go for me. Small roles that do one thing and do it well significantly reduced code duplication and helped the code to be easily maintainable. You then combine those roles to build more complex solutions. Basically the same thing @Thulium-Drake already said.