Getting started with Ansible…

Hey All - I’m fairly new to Ansible and have managed to setup some playbooks in my work to interact with a few different REST APIs to perform some automation. I’m running the playbooks on localhost as it doesn’t need to execute across multiple hosts. Would you say this is the correct way to use Ansible? It’s working well for us but I’m aware there is a lot more we can do with this.

What’s the best resources to learn more? Books, Training Courses etc all welcome.

Thanks

2 Likes

Hey,

Would you say this is the correct way to use Ansible?

There is no wrong way to use Ansible IMO, though there are definitively best practices to observe and pitfalls to avoid.
Anyways, this is 100% legit usage; tasks doesn’t necessarily need to run against remote machines, it all depends on what you’re trying to do.

If you need any assistance or opinion on your playbooks / roles / modules / …, don’t hesitate to ask here.

What’s the best resources to learn more?

Depends on how you like to learn stuff. Some people like following courses over books or videos, others prefer an hands-on initiation.
I don’t have much to recommend here, but I heard @geerlingguy book was a good read ! Fun thing is I bought it some time ago but haven’t found the time to read through it yet. What a shame !

I personally would try to find tasks I’d like to automate or existing scripts to convert, be it for personal or professional usage, then start writing playbooks and roles as needed, learning on the fly as I bash my head against various problems.

Hope it helps !

2 Likes

Hello!

What @ptn has mentioned is absolutely correct, and I wouldn’t change a single word :slight_smile: However, I’d like to enhance his explanation by including two helpful diagrams that greatly assisted me when I started teaching basic Ansible a few months ago.