DevOps and CI/CD

I’ve been building my AWX environment and NetDevOps skills from the ground up for a few months now.

I have AWX running in a pretty stable lab.

My AWX uses GitLab for project sources.

I use tiered branches in GitLab for main (Production), PreProd, Dev, and feature branches. When I create a new feature or bug fix, I clone Dev into a new branch, do my feature and bugfix development in that branch, and then merge that branch back to Dev. After testing the merge into Dev, I merge Dev into PreProd, and then PreProd into main (with manual tests and validations in between).

Now, I’m at the point where I would like to start doing some CI/CD and automated testing at the branch merge steps to help me get consistent QA testing done on each branch and release of my projects. I have no experience with this piece of development. Can someone help me get pointed in the right direction to start building this out?

@Dustin Hey! I’m assuming the changes you are making, building, deploying and testing are for another project (not AWX itself).

It sounds like you have one Job Template that runs the automation to build and test your webapp/project and you want to add in a step that runs integration tests against your deployment once it is up.

I would probably start by creating a workflow in AWX for each of the steps:

• Job Template 1: build images/compile code
  • Job Template 2: deploy app/code
  • Job Template 3: run tests against that running instance

You can pass information between jobs within a workflow using the set_stats ansible module.

As far as what that last “integration test” job template does, there are many approaches. I would lean towards a simple ansible playbook that calls python pytests, but this will be depend on what you are testing and what languages you know well :slight_smile:

1 Like